Board Members

The Board is composed of eighteen (18) individuals, specifically:

  • 3 Members elected by the Parents every second year at the Annual Spring meeting;
  • 6 Members appointed by the Board;
  • 6 Members (who are U.S. residents) appointed by the Board;
  • 3 Members appointed by the currently serving U.S. Ambassador in Greece.

Special consideration is given to individuals with experience in education, management, business, finance, accounting, law, and other areas appropriate to the ACS Athens mission.

Term of Office

  • Parent elected Board members will serve for a term of two (2) years, and may serve for a maximum of two terms;
  • Board elected members will be appointed for a term of up to three (3) years, to be renewed at the Board’s discretion;
  • US Ambassador elected members will be appointed for a term of up to three (3) years, to be renewed at the Ambassador’s discretion.

Standing Committees

  • Finance Committee: Mr. Iraklis Prokopakis (Chair), Ms. Irene Hayes

  • Facilities Committee: Mr. Constantine Stergides (Chair), Mr. Tim Ananiadis

  • Legal Committee: Mr. Artie Gyftopoulos, Dr. Anastasios Kaburakis

  • Fundraising Committee: Mr. Tim Ananiadis (Chair), Ms. Ada Gianneskis

AdHoc Committees

  • Investment Committee: Mr. Artie Gyftopoulos (Chair)

  • Leadership Committee: Executive Committee Members (to implement succession plan)

  • Assessment Committee: Mr. Pascal Apostolides

  • Nominating Committee: Mr. Constantine Stergides, Mr. Pascal Apostolides

Board Members

Executive Committee

  • Pascal Apostolides - Chairperson

  • Tim Ananiadis - Vice Chairperson

  • Iraklis Prokopakis - Treasurer

  • Eleni Aravanis - Secretary

  • Kristen Roberts - U.S. Embassy

  • Constantine Stergides - Member

Board of Trustees Members

  • Areti Alafogiannis - U.S. Embassy

  • Irene Hayes Christodoulou

  • Nicholas Gialamas - U.S. Trustee

  • Artie Gyftopoulos - Representative to the US Trustees

  • Anastasios Kaburakis - U.S. Trustee

  • Tina Stathopoulou Kanellou

  • Yanjing Winnie Liu

  • Demetri Paneras - U.S. Trustee

  • Suheil Sabbagh - Honorary Chairperson & Member

  • George Anthony Sifakis - U.S. Trustee

  • Amanda VanderStelt

  • Mark Wolper - U.S. Trustee