Board Members

The Board is composed of eighteen (18) individuals, specifically:

  • 3 Members elected by the Parents every second year at the Annual Spring meeting
  • 6 Members appointed by the Board 
  • 6 Members (who are U.S. residents) appointed by the Board
  • 3 Members appointed by the currently serving U.S. Ambassador in Greece

Special consideration is given to individuals with experience in education, management, business, finance, accounting, law, and other areas appropriate to the ACS Athens mission.

Term of Office

  • Parent elected Board members will serve for a term of two (2) years, and may serve for a maximum of two terms.
  • Board elected members will be appointed for a term of up to three (3) years, to be renewed at the Board’s discretion.
  • US Ambassador elected members will be appointed for a term of up to three (3) years, to be renewed at the Ambassador’s discretion.

Standing Committees

  • Finance Committee: Mr. Iraklis Prokopakis (Chair), Mr. Robert Kingman

  • Facilities Committee: Mr. Constantine Stergides (Chair), Mr. Tim Ketter

  • Legal Committee: Mr. Nick Karambelas (Chair), Mr. Artie Gyftopoulos

  • Fundraising Committee: Mr. Tim Ananiadis (Chair), Ms. Ada Gianneskis, Ms. EffieTsiotsiou

AdHoc Committees

  • Investment Committee: Mr. Artie Gyftopoulos (Chair), Mr. Nick Karambelas

  • Leadership Committee: Executive Committee Members (to implement succession plan)

  • Assessment Committee: Mr. Pascal Apostolides

Board Members

Executive Committee

  • Mr. Suheil Sabbagh, Chairperson
  • Mr. Tim Ananiadis, Vice Chairperson
  • Mr. Nicholas Karambelas, Vice Chairperson, U.S. Trustee
  • Mr. Iraklis Prokopakis, Treasurer
  • Mr. Pascal Apostolides, Secretary
  • Mr. Constantine Stergides, member
  • CAPT Tim Ketter, US Embassy

Board of Trustees Members

  • Mr. Nicholas T. Gialamas
  • Ms. Ada Gianneskis
  • Dr. Vasilis G. Gregoriou
  • Mr. Artie Gyftopoulos
  • Mr. Steve Dube, U.S. Embassy
  • Ms. Irene Hayes, U.S. Trustee
  • Ms. Michele Siders, U.S. Embassy
  • Demetri Paneras, U.S. Trustee
  • Ms. Effie Tsiotsiou
  • Mr. Mark Wolper, U.S. Trustee