Languages Department
Learning Differences Conference 2013

How To Get Points

Students take exams in 6 subjects. Each subject is graded on a scale of 1-7

Passing grades = 4 - 7

For Example:
A student can receive his/her diploma with 24 points (6 x 4 = 24) {providing he has fulfilled all other diploma requirements of TOK, Extended Essay, CAS} or: A student can receive his/her diploma with 45 points (6x7=42+3=45) {up to 3 Bonus Points are awarded for the student’s TOK and Extended Essay work}

Failing grades = 1 – 3

A student is allowed to fail a subject (or subjects) but must compensate for this.
For example:

A student getting a 3 in a Higher Level subject must also have a HL 5,6, or 7 and the total score must be 28 points. The diploma will be awarded.

or: A student getting a 2 in two SL subjects must have a total score of 28.
The diploma will be awarded.

The Diploma cannot be awarded, whatever the total score, to candidates who have not submitted an Extended Essay, not completed TOK requirements, not engaged in and documented CAS activities.

Students who fail to receive the diploma or pass a subject exam have the right to re-sit any subject in either November or May. The higher score will count and the diploma may then be awarded.